RECIPE: Banana Bread (dairy free!)

The smell of baking banana bread is hard to beat, but some of my other favorite smells that are right up there are the ocean air, coffee, vanilla, and your local day spa! (Is that weird?).

Anyway, the temp started at 64 this morning, warm enough for a walk, and now it’s dropped to the 40’s so I took the brown bananas that I have been stockpiling in my freezer and mixed up some banana bread. This is my momma’s recipe that I will never stray away from! It is so simple and also happens to be dairy free!

Make it gluten free too with your favorite gluten free flour.

You can jazz this up with some flavored baking chips or adding in some rum, but I’m old fashioned and like to have a warm slice with a cup of coffee with my homemade creamer on a day like today. So here you go…..

BANANA BREAD
3 old brown bananas
2 cups flour
3/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon each of baking soda and salt
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla (or rum if you like that idea)

Slowly mix the dry ingredients, then add in the bananas, vanilla, and eggs. Beat on medium speed until mixed and pour into a greased loaf pan. I like to sprinkle cinnamon on top for a pretty effect, but it also smells good too when baking. Bake at 325 for approximately 1 hour until the toothpick shows a few crumbs. Cool and slice, then enjoy however you see fit!

I’m off to start wrapping some Christmas presents.

Leave a Reply

