Gluten Free Muffin Smorgasbord 

Ok, it’s been a while since I posted anything and I’m sorry! I’ve been busy baking and just haven’t shown any of it off.. But today I have a triple feature! 

First here’s some tips for your gluten free breakfast baking:

  1. If you’re vegan in addition to being gluten free, do you know about flax eggs? Flax eggs are 1 tablespoon mixed with 2.5 tablespoons water and used as an egg replacement in vegan baking. It represents as a binding agent and it works very well! I used it in the vegan gluten free lemon lavender muffins pictured on the right of my picture. 
  2. If you bake GF, you probably already know that all GF flour isn’t created equal when it comes to using it for different things. An example is the flour you’re making GF bread with and gives it awesome texture doesn’t necessarily do the same thing for your GF chocolate chip cookies. Sweetbreads like cookies and muffins need more grit. So may I encourage you to try almond meal if you haven’t already! Try replacing half the flour your recipe calls for with it and I believe you’ll have found the muffin/cookie/scone/ect texture you’ve been missing. GF baking doesn’t have to suck and you don’t have to settle!

So in my picture, I decided to have breakfast outside this morning. No I didn’t eat all 3 muffins but I had a side job and wanted to take their pictures and show them to you. From left to right I have: GF apple spice muffins, GF pumpkin muffins, and GF lemon lavender. Pairs well with coffee and apple slices sprinkled with cinnamon 😍

Bon appetite! 

Leave a Reply

